• Daycare

Hi everyone,
I live in South Berwick and I'm the mom to a social 6 month old daughter. I'm looking into nanny jobs and in home childcare opportunities. I'm looking for people who may be interested in my services.

I have spent the last 15 yrs working with people with developmental disabilities which has given me quite a bit of relevant experience. (I also babysat, nannied and worked at children summer in the past). I have a high level of patience and I've been trained extensively on providing positive behavioral support which I think is beneficial for any child (ABA - Applied Behavior Analysis also). I also have a broad range of experience with various medical needs/conditions (epilepsy, hearing impairment, visual impairment, mobility issues etc) allergies/special diets (SCD, paleo, gluten-free/celiac, nut-free) and psychological disorders (entire range from anxiety to schizophrenia) in addition to developmental disabilities (including autism spectrum and sensory disorders, CP, intellectual disability, ADD/ADHD etc).

In my experience, I have supervised group homes as well as several day service programs with up to as many as 200 individuals with special needs at a time. So, I'm very familiar with creating and implementing community outings/trips, lesson plans, recreational opportunities, skill development opportunities and also in providing a structured, supportive and caring environment. I love the arts and nature (and find great value in them therapeutically and developmentally) and have always integrated these things into the opportunities I provide. (Various Arts & crafts, gardening, hiking, snow shoeing, animal care- like feeding the goats, etc.)

In my ideal situation I would provide care for 2 children in my home with an emphasis on nature, community and the arts (dependent on age and interests). I could be flexible in most areas but would prefer something full-time during the week. I would love to engage the children in activities and adventures, in my home, yard (very large private yard a great distance from the road with swing set) and in the community. We have 3 miniature goats, 6 chickens and 2 dogs (dogs are friendly but will be kept in separate area).

I would be happy to provide healthy meals and have a great deal of knowledge and experience in this area as well. I would also be open to providing transportation for the children if this would be of help to the family. I would love to hear from anyone who may be interested.

Take care, Kerrie